SC EPSCoR State Committee

The South Carolina EPSCoR State Committee brings together the leaders of the academic institutions and government agencies involved in carrying out EPSCoR objectives, and therefore oversees the coordination of initiatives across EPSCoR and IDeA funded programs.

*Member, Executive Committee

*†Michael Matthews, Chair

Vice Dean and Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, College of Engineering and Computing
University of South Carolina

*Dr. Jim Doolittle

Program Director

Mark Barnes

Mark Barnes

Science & Technology Deputy Associate Laboratory Director
Savannah River National Laboratory

*Dr. Jesse S. Goodwin

Chief Innovation Officer
Medical University of South Carolina

Kenneth R. Deans., Jr.

President and CEO
Health Sciences South Carolina

*Tanju Karanfil

Vice President for Research
Clemson University

Elbert Malone

Associate Provost of Sponsored Programs and Research
South Carolina State University

*Godwin Mbamalu

Associate Vice President for Research
Benedict College

Michael McInerney

Director of External Affairs
South Carolina Commerce Department

*Prakash Nagarkatti

Vice President for Research
University of South Carolina

*Bob Quinn

Executive Director
South Carolina Research Authority

Susie Shannon

President and CEO
South Carolina Council on Competitiveness

Kelly Steinhilper

Vice President for Communications and Strategy
South Carolina Tech College System

*John Wheeler

Associate Provost for Integrative Science
Furman University

†Chair term: July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2022
Elected Members (Godwin and Wheeler) Term July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2024

Emeritus Members

Angela Peters

Vice Provost
Claflin University

Mark Sothmann, Chair Emeritus

Provost Emeritus
Medical University of South Carolina

Verlie Tisdale

Vice Provost
Claflin University